This page contains the contact information for the faculty members of Romance and Classical Studies. A complete department directory can be found here.

Romance and Classical Studies faculty contribute regularly to interdisciplinary programs in African Studies, American Indian Studies, Chicano/Latino Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Women’s and Gender Studies, Global Studies in the Arts and Humanities, Integrative Studies in the Arts and Humanities, Jewish Studies, Muslim Studies and Second Language Acquisition. They also collaborate with CeLTA and CLEAR.

Classics Faculty

Brandon Conley

Language Instructor 
Classics & Art History

conleyb7@msu.edu
517-884-6348
B-480 Wells Hall

Jon Frey

Associate Professor
Classics & Art History

freyjona@msu.edu
517-355-0237
105D Kresge Art Center

Anna Kirkwood-Graham

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Classics & Latin

grahama9@msu.edu
517-884-6354
B-480 Wells Hall

French Faculty

Safoi Babana-Hampton

Professor
French

babanaha@msu.edu
517-884-6311
B-461 Wells Hall

Valentina Denzel

Associate Professor
French

vdenzel@msu.edu
517-884-4360
B-362 Wells Hall

Matthew Kanefsky

Basic Language Instruction Coordinator
French

kanefsky@msu.edu
517-884-6319
B-480 Wells Hall

Hannah Olsen

Language Instructor 
French

olsenhan@msu.edu
517-432-2337
B-370 Wells Hall

Elizabeth Tuttle

Assistant Professor
French

tuttlee1@msu.edu
517-884-6308
B-356 Wells Hall

Anne Violin-Wigent

Associate Professor
French

violinwi@msu.edu
517-884-6304
B-352 Wells Hall

Jena Whitaker

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
French

whitak87@msu.edu
517-432-0713
B-230 Wells Hall

Aurora Wolfgang

Professor
French

aurorawg@msu.edu
517-884-6331
B-351 Wells Hall

Italian Faculty

Carmen De Lorenzo

Instructor (Designation B)
Italian

deloren5@msu.edu
517-884-6314
B-480 Wells Hall

Juliet Guzzetta

Assistant Professor
Italian & English

guzzetta@msu.edu
517-884-4447
C-644 Wells Hall

Jessica Toby

Language Instructor 
Italian

jntoby@msu.edu
517-884-6344
C-230 Wells Hall

Portuguese Faculty

Saulo Gouveia

Associate Professor
Portuguese

gouveias@msu.edu
517-884-6328
B-458 Wells Hall

Christopher Estrada

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Portuguese

estrad57@msu.edu
517-432-0713
B-320 Wells Hall

Spanish Faculty

Gabriela Alfaraz

Associate Professor
Spanish

alfarazg@msu.edu
517-884-6343
B-350 Wells Hall

Adolfo Ausin

Assistant Professor (Designation B)
Spanish

ausin@msu.edu
517-884-6339
B-480 Wells Hall

Stacey Barajas

Instructor (Designation B)
Spanish

sbarajas@msu.edu
517-884-6349
B-480 Wells Hall

Irma Bartolo

Instructor (Designation B)
Spanish

bartoloi@msu.edu
517-884-6347
B-480 Wells Hall

Scott Boehm

Assistant Professor
Spanish

sboehm@msu.edu
517-884-6307
B-452 Wells Hall

Silvina Bongiovanni

Assistant Professor
Spanish

bongiov8@msu.edu
517-884-6345
B-363 Wells Hall

Kristine Byron

Associate Professor
Spanish

byronk@msu.edu
517-884-6325
B-353 Wells Hall

Miguel Cabañas

Associate Professor
Spanish

mcabanas@msu.edu
517-884-6346
B-457 Wells Hall

Mark Davis

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Spanish

mdavis@msu.edu
517-884-6342
B-480 Wells Hall

Marco Díaz-Muñoz

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Spanish

diazmarc@msu.edu
517-884-6348
B-480 Wells Hall

Meagan Driver

Assistant Professor
Department of Romance and Classical Studies

Core Faculty
Second Language Studies

driverme@msu.edu
B-365 Wells Hall

Michelle Frederick

Language Instructor
Spanish

frede181@msu.edu
517-884-6321
B-480 Wells Hall

Joseba Gabilondo

Associate Professor
Spanish

joseba@msu.edu
517-884-6327
B-366 Wells Hall

Anthony Grubbs

Associate Professor & RCS Chair
Spanish

grubbsa@msu.edu
517-355-8350
B-304 Wells Hall

Dora Martin-Cabrera

Language Instructor
Spanish

marti892@msu.edu
517-884-6321
B-480 Wells Hall

Alejandra Márquez-Guajardo

Assistant Professor
Spanish

amarquez@msu.edu
517-884-6351
B-363 Wells Hall

Danny Méndez

Associate Professor
Spanish

mendezda@msu.edu
517-884-6350
B-367 Wells Hall

Francisco Morales

Basic Language Coordinator
Spanish

morale70@msu.edu
517-884-6336
B-480 Wells Hall

Zenaida Moreno-Mosqueda

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Spanish

morenoze@msu.edu
514-432-4691
B-230 Wells Hall

Charles Moulding

Language Instructor
Spanish

mouldin1@msu.edu
517-884-4358
B-230 Wells Hall

Maria Mudrovcic

Professor
Spanish

mudrovci@msu.edu
517-884-6350
B-455 Wells Hall

Rocío Quispe-Agnoli

Professor
Spanish

quispeag@msu.edu
517-884-6315
B-355 Wells Hall

Victor Rodriguez-Pereira

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Spanish

rodri783@msu.edu
517-884-6330
B-480 Wells Hall

Virginia Ruifernández-Conde

Assistant Professor (Fixed Term)
Spanish

ruiferna@msu.edu
517-884-6330
B-480 Wells Hall

Krista Wack

Language Instructor
Spanish

bruenjes@msu.edu
517-884-6333
B-480 Wells Hall


Emeritus

Ehsan Ahmed

Professor (Emeritus)
French

ahmede@msu.edu

Joseph Francese

Distinguished Professor (Emeritus)
Italian

francese@msu.edu

Marshall Olds

Professor (Emeritus)
French

molds@msu.edu

John Rauk

Professor (Emeritus)
Classics

rauk@msu.edu